Local Cave and Mine Leader Scheme

The Local Cave and Mine Leader Assessment (LCMLA) Scheme is managed by the British Caving Association (BCA). The scheme provides an award recognising the competence of those wishing to take responsibility for others underground, for the benefit of employers or others in authority. The main considerations are equally the safety of the group and the conservation of a fragile environment.

Scheme content

The two levels of the scheme comprise of four basic Modules. There are two additional modules and one supplementary module. They are titled:

Level 1 Module 1 Core Skills
Module 2 Group Skills and Local Knowledge
Level 2 Module 3 Vertical Skills
Module 4 Group Vertical Skills and Local Knowledge
Level 2 option Module 5 Leaderís Single Rope Techniques Skills
Levels 1 and 2 Module 6 Cave and Mine Transfer
Levels 1 and 2 Supplementary Module Local Knowledge

Modules 1 and 2 form the basis of the LCMLA Level 1 award.

Module 3 and 4 form the basis of the LCMLA Level 2 award.

Module 5, this is the SRT option for leaders and will normally be assessed in module 3 and 4, however candidates may take this module on its own at a later date.

Module 6 is also optional to enable Leaders to list sites of both cave and mine types in the list of sites named on their award.

The supplementary Local Knowledge module enables Leaders to add additional named sites within their existing area or additional sites from another area to the list of sites on their awards.

Nigel runs the training courses and assessment days for both the Level 1 and Level 2 Awards. He is a member of the Derbyshire Panel and the Northern Panel, so he can sanction qualifications in both those areas.

© Nigel Ball 2019, all rights reserved | Website design and hosting by Cairn Designs